Musings on writing, M/M Fantasy and Erotic Romance, and life.

Anatomy of a Trainwreck

The train wreck’s name is Vincent Sweetwater, a sex-addicted former narcotics cop now back on the job as a homicide dick after wrecking his Harley. Vince’s world is unkind to him. It has been since he was a child. A father who is in prison. A mother who died of heroin overdose. A life in foster care that frankly sucked, except for Mica. His first foster home was a friend of his parents. Mica was their daughter. A dark haired little girl three years younger. She inspired his protective instincts. All grown up, she still does, but his instinct is to protect her from himself. Married with one child, Vince’s life is torn apart when he and Mica lose their daughter in a car accident.

Okay, here’s where I’m going to make a comment: this was the premise for a m/f traditional romance. Trainwreck started out this way because up until then, it’s all I’ve read. Then I discovered the flaw with traditional romance: not enough sex! So, I decide to start reading some erotica. I wanted to find stuff that wasn’t the Penthouse Forum I grew up reading. I wanted sex. I wanted bondage. Whips and canes do excite me and I wanted them to excite Vince.

In my search, I found Madeline Urban and Abigail Roux’s Cut and Run. Ty and Zane are two characters I’ll drop whatever I’m doing to read, or listen too on Audible. Now, I knew more about Vince. I knew he needed a secret. Vince has many secrets, but I wanted him to have a double life, one that begins to unravel around him. It was time to test his sexuality. To test his desire’s and find from where his darkest dreams stem. I drew on some of my own fantasies for Vince. The most prevalent one is being flogged, whipped until you either bleed, come, or both. It’s the little things I enjoy.

He’s such a strong character. Angry and violent, but what if inside all he really wants to do is submit? Submit to his wife? Yes, but he could never ask sweet Mica to hurt him, to destroy him so he can wallow in the pain until she ‘saves’ him, forgiving him for being less than human. Like an epiphany,  I knew who Vince had to meet, a man who could do battle with Vince and win: Master Greg.

The development of Master Greg went beyond the stereotypical dom, yet he has all the traits. He’s an MD who switched from Oncology to become a GP (general practitioner) in order to spend more time with his dying lover, Grayson. Greg Dunne and Grayson Alexander are the sweetest, most loving couple to ever inhabit my brain and I kill one of them from the onset. Grayson is never met anywhere in the book other than in flashback or through Vince and Greg’s memories. Still, he is a vital character, so full of life even in death. He’s the link between Vince and Greg. Grayson’s memory makes them survive even a falling out.

By now you’re probably wondering about the antagonist. Didn’t I mention Vince is now working homicide? Besides Vince being the antagonist against himself, he also has to find a killer who may be the man who abused him as a child, Mica’s father Adam James.

Just one problem, Adam James was presumed dead in a structure fire. So while Vince is chasing ghosts, Mica is chasing him with the help of their foster brother, who is also Vince’s partner: Nick Sarafino. Through Nick we discover more about Vince as a person. Nick questions his brother’s sanity, but has his back when times come. He also hurts still over the death of his niece.

This book was the beginning of my foray into writing. I wrote it in six months. It’s been a labor of love. Since then I’ve written short stories and several novels. I still return to Trainwreck. It’s a my magnum opus in search of a home. Someday this massive genesis of my writing will see the light of day. Until then, Trainwreck is the epitome of learning what I was doing along the way. I totally winged it and have fallen in love with characters who inhabit Trainwreck’ s pages.

My cruelty is in getting beta readers attached to them as well. Hehehe, so cruel that I’ve written a sequel.

Writing Trainwreck is the first story in my life I’ve finished. I’ve been writing since I was a young girl.

Finally I’ve committed to my writing and its all because of a Trainwreck.

4 responses

  1. You know how much I love Vince. If he needs a home, I’m accepting!

    Like

    April 26, 2014 at 9:32 pm

    • Yes, I know that man would never be lonely or mishandled by you. I’m not sure I can give him up. 😉

      Like

      April 26, 2014 at 9:57 pm

  2. Well, I love Vince, but I’d gladly take Nick as well. 🙂 This story is so BLOODY good. I would have gone mad if I hadn’t got a sneak look at the sequel to it. I LOVE these characters. They’re phenomenal. Wow.

    Like

    April 29, 2014 at 12:51 am

    • Thanks Meg! I’m glad Nicko gets some love from you. He gets ignored sometimes. Angela doesn’t mind however.

      Like

      June 2, 2014 at 1:05 pm

Leave a Reply

